Now that Google chrome has started bitching about certificates not having Subject Alternative Names because the practice of using Common Names in certificates has changed.

So in order to get the SAN into a CSR you need to edit the OpenSSL config file you’re using for the request. You can spend time scripting something, but for the few times I do it I’ll just copy the base openssl.cnf file to one specific to the CSR I need to create. After all you’ll already have customised the req_distinguished_name section so you don’t have to put in the country and company name all the time. eg.

$ cp /etc/ssl/openssl.cnf ~/myserver.cnf

Then I just use that new cnf file as part of the command line to create the CSR.

$ openssl req -out myserver.csr -new -newkey rsa:2048 -nodes -keyout myserver.key -config ~/myserver.cnf

The changes I made to the cnf file are create a section alt_names that are then used by the  section v3_req.

[ v3_req ]
subjectAltName = @alt_names

[ alt_names ]
DNS.0 = myserver.domain.local
DNS.1 = myserver

Note the numerical suffixes to add more than one entry.

Then make sure the req_extentions line in the req section is uncommented.

[ req ]
...
req_extensions = v3_req # The extensions to add to a certificate request
...

I guess it doesn’t need to be so convoluted, I could probably put all that into the req section, but it works and means I can reuse the cnf file and just change the alt_names section.

