I’ve run across this a few times now. It seems every time I do a big Linux upgrade I lose the ability to connect to an internal server using its FQDN. I can ping the short name, I can do a DNS resolution of the FQDN, but I just can’t connect to it using RDP and can’t ping it using its FQDN.

This is something to do with the domain name being .local and conflicting with the MDNS service. Not sure exactly what but it’s an easy fix.

All you need do is adjust the order of the name service lookups in the /etc/nsswitch.conf file and make sure dns comes before the mdns entry.

$ sudo vi /etc/nsswtch.conf
...
hosts: files myhostname dns mdns4_minimal [NOTFOUND=return]

Initially I found the dns was last in the list so just move it in front of the mdns4_minimal entry and you’re set.

