This has caused me a lot of frustration this morning. The new version of PacketFence (v6.4) doesn’t like the externally configured domain configuration that I was forced to use when I first set things up.

I couldn’t get packetfence to join the domain so I editted the configuration files so it was already joined to the domain. This isn’t how 6.4 works and you then have to run a script to migrate the external settings into the packetfence database configuration.

The script it tells you to run is /usr/local/pf/addons/AD/migrate.pl but try as I might this wouldn’t work for me. Firstly it’s not set as executeable, so I had to call it using:

$ sudo perl /usr/local/pf/addons/AD/migrate.pl

But then it really messed up the config file /usr/local/pf/conf/domain.conf like this:

[this
 DOMAIN]
 ad_server=192.168.0.55:749
 workgroup= <

So all sorts of things went wrong. Eventually I just edited that file and corrected it so it looked like this:

[DOMAIN]
 ad_server=192.168.0.55:749
 workgroup=DOMAIN
 dns_server=192.168.0.55
 bind_pass=
 dns_name=DOMAIN.LOCAL
 bind_dn=username
 server_name=packetfence

Now I could use the Web UI to configure the domain further and get it to join.

Well I tried that and the wheels came off again. Test join was failing with because of an “Internal Error”. So I tried all kinds of combinations of setting in the domain settings and no luck.

Eventually I settled on these settings:

Workgroup: DOMAIN

DNS name of the domain: DOMAIN.LOCAL

This servers name: %h

Active Directory server: ad.domain.local

DNS server: 192.168.0.55

Username: username@domain.local

Password: mysecret

Allow on registration: unticked

This setting eventually worked! Why eventually? Well after trying a few net ads status and like commands I found that kerberos didn’t like the fact that the servers time was more than 10 minutes different from the domain servers time! Too big a clock skew! So all that was needed was to install ntp and configure it to use our local ntp servers. Once the time had synchronised the domain join succeeded.

Now I’m not sure entirely if the settings in /etc/samba/smb.conf and /etc/krb5.conf helped with this as I’m not sure if packetfence uses them. But within them I have setup the domain.

smb.conf

[global]

## Browsing/Identification ###

# Change this to the workgroup/NT-domain name your Samba server will part of
workgroup = DOMAIN

security = ads
passdb backend = tdbsam
realm = DOMAIN.LOCAL
encrypt passwords = yes
winbind use default domain = yes
client NTLMv2 auth = yes
preferred master = no
domain master = no
local master = no
load printers = no
log level = 1 winbind:5 auth:3
winbind max clients = 750
winbind max domain connections = 15
winbind separator = +

krb5.conf

[libdefaults]
 default_realm = DOMAIN.LOCAL

...

[realms]

DOMAIN.LOCAL = {
 kdc = ad.domain.local:88
 admin_server = ad.domain.local:749
 default_domain =DOMAIN.LOCAL
 }


[domain_realm]

DOMAIN.LOCAL =DOMAIN.LOCAL
 .DOMAIN.LOCAL =DOMAIN.LOCAL
