ECMAScript is the underlying standard that JavaScript is built to. My main exposure has been with ES5 as supported by “corporate” modern browsers. However, the more modern browsers now support ES6. ES6 brings a lot of changes to the party and many are arguing that it’s making the need for CoffeeScript diminish significantly.

Just typical. I discover something that I find useful and it starts to become redundant – or does it?

I’ve encountered a number of articles discussing the topic “ES6 vs CoffeeScript” and there all pretty interesting points of view. I can see how some of the CoffeeScript features become more natively available, but for me I love losing the syntactically challenging stuff like function brackets {}, commas , and semi-colons ;.

Mind you I also like how along the way I’ve discovered useful tools like Atom, GulpJS and coffeelint to help sort all of this out automatically. Turns out there’s also an ESLint that can help whichever way you choose – and that’s before we get into JSX, React and Angular. Turns out I’m just at the tip of this JavaScript iceberg.

References

Long Live CoffeeScript and Long Live ES6

On CoffeeScript and ES6

Save

