I’m still a little new to this Node.js stuff and it took me a which for how it is installed to come together in my head. After carrying out the install I was confused with reading the install routines needed for various modules I wanted to make use of.

I’d come across:

$ npm install --global
$ npm install --save-dev
$ npm install --save

And not really understood the difference.

After building an app I started to wonder why my app folder was so huge. It contained all of the node modules for everything. Surely this isn’t right? So I took some time to figure out what was going on and it became obvious.

When you install Node.js it installs it into your executable location, like c:\Program Files\ and adds it to your path. So now you can just call node or npm from the command line. This comes with all the default Node.js modules.

Now I want to add a module like electron-packager and I want to make it available to all future projects. So for this I use --global. This installs the Electron modules under an npm folder in my profife (in windows C:\Users\Warlord\AppData\Roaming\npm\node_modules. So now when I go create a project I can use electron-packager without having to install it into my project folder.

During development I also make use of some modules that I need to have local to my project (like Gulp), but not distributed when it comes time to distribute. So for this I use --save-dev. This installs the modules into my profile npm/node_modules folder and adds them to the projects package.json under devDependencies.

Finally I use some modules that in order for my application to work, must be distributed with it. This is where I used --save as it installs the modules into the projects node_modules folder and adds then to the projects package.json under dependencies.

