I’ve been a fan and user of OpenELEC on my Raspberry Pi’s for some time. It’s always performed great and was pretty straightforward to install and use. But it seems the developers are struggling to keep up with the releases of Kodi.

This isn’t necessarily a problem. It’s not like I need a new Kodi when the version I have works just fine. But I ran into OSMC and it has a newer version of Kodi and promised to be just as straight forward.

… and you know what? It really was.

In fact it’s probably the easiest install I’ve ever done! I thought I’d actually use the Windows installer tool for this as normally I’d just use Linux to dd the image file onto an SD card and job done.

Well the Windows installer couldn’t be easier! You run the installer, which claims to work on Windows XP and upwards. It sure ran fine on Windows 10.

The installer leads you through basic questions about language and what device it is for (Raspberry Pi 2/3, obviously) then what version of OSMC you’d like to install. Next you choose what you’d like to copy it onto, SD card, USB etc.

It’s just a click, click, click and installed. I’m impressed.

I still prefer to Linux dd it on, as to me that’s simple, but for those in the Microsoft world, building and installing a Raspberry Pi just became a whole lot easier.

osmc_installer
Installation Complete!

Just take the SD card from your PC plug it into the Pi and power it on. I’ll take a while to complete the installation. So just go make a brew whilst it finishes up.

osmc_installing

As for using OSMC, well it’s Kodi, so it’s simple. But it has it’s own OSMC skin, but you can change this to anything else like Confluence or Box. But the OSMC skin is simple and lightweight. Like it’s build for the processing power of the Raspberry Pi. I may change to something else, but generally I come back to skins that are graphically simple and perform well. The OSMC default skin is certainly one that meets my needs.

osmc_collage

Save

